TowerXchange Industry Awards

Nominations now closed

Following an overwhelming number of high quality submissions for the inaugural awards in 2016, we are delighted to announce the 2nd Annual TowerXchange Industry Awards, focussed on achievements in the African and Middle Eastern region.

Winners announced: Tuesday 3 October at the TowerXchange Meetup Africa & Middle East, 2017

2017 categories

1. Energy efficiency project of the year

Recognising proven field results from pilot projects to wide-scale deployment. How did repair, upgrade, improved configuration or better management of power equipment reduce fuel/ power consumption and opex?

2. Workforce/ partner training and upskilling initiative of the year

What programmes have been put in place to drive up quality of the workmanship in site rollout, upgrade or operations and maintenance? What results has this delivered and what additional benefits has it brought? What makes your initiative stand out?

3. CSR initiative of the year

Recognising companies, initiatives and programmes having a positive impact on social and environmental wellbeing.

4. Infrastructure sharing company/ initiative of the year

Open to both independent tower companies and MNO passive infrastructure teams; who has demonstrated excellence in infrastructure sharing putting them ahead of their peers?

5. Operational efficiency solution/ initiative of the year (non-energy)

Reducing site visits, execution of works ahead of schedule, improvement in site up time, better integration between partners and systems; how have you reached new efficiencies in the MEA tower industry?

6. Lifetime achievement award (please note this category is not open for nominations)

Recognising an individual who has had a transformational impact on the region’s tower industry.

Awards FAQs

Q: Can I enter more than one award?

A: Yes, you are welcome to enter multiple awards

Q: Who is eligible to enter/ win the awards?

A: There are no limits set on what type of company can enter each category (except for the “Infrastructure sharing company/ initiative of the year” award, open only to MNOs and towercos)

Q: Does my submission have to relate to the African & Middle Eastern region?

A: Yes, this year’s awards will be focussed on Africa and the Middle East and so submissions must relate to companies, sites, projects or initiatives in the region.

Q: Does my submission have to relate to work that has been done in the past year?

A: Yes, although if a given project/ initiative was started at an earlier date but work has continued within the past twelve months it will still be eligible to enter the award

Q: Do we enter as an individual company or with all stakeholders involved in the project? 

A: You may enter as an individual company or as a project team. Please name the parties who you would like to recognise when you submit your application and specify who the lead party is that we should follow up with.

Q: How much does it cost to submit an application?

A: There is no fee associated with awards submissions

Q: What is the submissions process?

Please completed  the online form which can be found on the awards home page ( Word limits for each question are laid out on the form. Should you wish to submit supporting materials, please email these to Laura Graves, Managing Director, EMEA: 

Q: What is the deadline for submissions?

A: The deadline for submissions is Thursday 14 September

Q: How will shortlisted entries be notified?

A: Shortlisted entries will be notified directly by email.

Q: How many entries will be shortlisted?

A: The number of shortlisted entries will depend on the quality of applications, however we plan for no more than 5 shortlisted entries per category

Q: What qualities will be valued in submissions?

A: When discussing innovations or initiatives, submissions should focus on real life deployment examples that have been carried out at a significant scale and delivered tangible commercial benefits to key parties involved.

Q: When will the awards be announced and must I be present to win?

A: The winners will be announced on 3 October at the TowerXchange Africa & Middle East in Johannesburg. A representative from (or on behalf of) the company/ project/ transaction must be present in order to collect the award.